How Many Levels of ITIL Certification are there?

Do you know? ITIL certifications have become the favorite certifications among professionals due to the immense growth opportunities. Apart from massive compensation benefits, ITIL certifications provide the experts with scopes of tremendous professional development. You can build your knowledge base and practical experience continuously over time. Also, you can keep aiming for higher-level certifications till becoming a master.

Did we say ITIL certification has levels? Yes, we did! These certifications have several phases, from Foundation to Master. Now, you might be having several questions in your mind. Why do they divide the entire ITIL syllabus into levels? What are the benefits of clearing each level? How much more can you earn after passing each certification exam? You will find the answers to all these questions (and many more) right below.

This article will discuss the need to segregate the ITIL curriculum into several levels, the number of such exams, and much more. So, you will have enough information about ITIL certification before even beginning your preparation journey.

Skills required to pass ITIL exams

An ITIL professional is all about numerous skills and talents. The exam tests your knowledge and relevant skill sets. So, it will help if you learn a handful of skills before taking the ITIL exams.

Do you wish to know about the must-have ITIL skills? Below is a list of all the talents that can push you to become ITIL-certified experts in the industry.

  • Knowledge of cutting-edge technologies

As an ITIL-certified professional, you will remain surrounded by the latest technologies. So, you should have sound knowledge of the existing tech stacks. Also, you must possess a curiosity for the upcoming technologies that are likely to surface in the future.

  • Management skills

ITIL professionals shape the technical posture of a company. Such a hectic responsibility requires proficient management skills. You will need to organize your colleagues and allot time for each activity to achieve efficiency in your workplace. Thus, management skill is a necessity for all ITIL experts.

  • Problem-solving skills

Another life-saving talent for ITIL experts is problem-solving skills. It’s best to have the patience to brainstorm solutions for any problem and avoid business disruptions due to such crises.

  • Knowledge of ITIL frameworks

You will become the head of ITIL operations in a company after getting certified. So, the exams and recruiters expect you to have proficient ITIL knowledge to implement in real-life situations.

These were the top skills required by an ITIL professional in the corporate environment.

Moving on, let’s understand the need for various ITIL certification levels.

What’s the need for various ITIL certification levels?

By now, we have mentioned different ITIL certification levels quite a few times. You might be thinking about the reason behind such a bifurcation. Right? Let’s get the answers to your mainframe question right below.

1. Experience

The various ITIL certification exams refer to different experience levels. For example, the Foundation-level certificate verifies foundational ITIL knowledge. As you gain more experience, you can take advanced exams till you reach the Master-level certification.

2. Knowledge

It would help to have different levels of knowledge to pass the ITIL exams. The Foundation exam will be perfect for you if you are a beginner in the industry. However, you can choose the highest-level ITIL certification if you have a knee-deep understanding of the subject.

3. Ease of hiring

When expertise is segregated according to different levels, it becomes simple for companies to hire the required knowledge and experience. They can limit their hiring to certified professionals of some level without any difficulties.

Now, think the opposite! What could have gone wrong if all levels merged in one ITIL exam? Only the elite professionals could crack the exams if it were true. Thus, the popularity of ITIL would have decreased dramatically.

Let’s understand the different ITIL levels more closely.

Different levels of ITIL certifications with prerequisites

ITIL certifications have become a favorite qualification among aspirants and employers. The companies hire experts belonging to different ITIL levels at lucrative wages.

But, what are the different ITIL certification levels? Let’s look at each of them in a detailed manner.

1. ITIL Foundation

As the name suggests, the ITIL Foundation exam is the elementary exam. It introduces the candidates to the ITIL concepts. You are required to take an exam to earn the ITIL Foundation certification. It does not demand clearing any prerequisite from you and offers two credits to your profile.

2. ITIL Intermediate

The next step in your ITIL journey is the intermediate-level certification. You should possess the Foundation certificate to become eligible to take the Intermediate exam. It has two streams and requires more understanding of ITIL guidelines.

3. ITIL Managing Across Service Lifecycle

The ITIL MALC is the last step towards achieving the ITIL expert certification. You should possess the Foundation certification to take the MALC exam. Also, you will be required to have 15 credits in the intermediate level to become eligible for the exam.

4. ITIL Expert

The ITIL Expert certification is the ultimate test in your journey. You require 15 credits in the intermediate level, 22 total credits, and you should possess the MALC certificate.

5. ITIL Master

As the name suggests, ITIL Master is the final level in the journey. It demands the ITIL expert certification from the test-takers. Also, you should have at least five years of leadership or management experience to become eligible for the Master’s diploma.

Let’s jump on to the final section now!

Salary data of each certification level

Here are some good-to-know statistics about the average annual salary of each ITIL certification level.

  • ITIL Foundation – $88,108
  • ITIL Intermediate – $100,000
  • ITIL Expert – $118,000
  • ITIL Master – $120,000

Indeed, the ITIL certifications can take you into high-paying jobs. These are the direct gateways to top-notch companies and managerial roles.

Read Also: Getting the Best Building insurance policy

To sum up!

As you saw, ITIL certifications have various levels and types. All you need is patience while you are new to the domain. You can begin from the foundation level and gradually clear the basic requirements to pass the advanced exams in the blink of an eye. Happy learning!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button
Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
100% Free SEO Tools - Tool Kits PRO